Can you put a landscape lighting transformer on a smart plug?
Yes, if two things line up. The transformer has to come on by itself when power arrives, and on many digital panels "manual ON" does not. And the plug has to be rated for a magnetic transformer, which on the one plug that prints it is 8 A, not 15 A.
Two answers circulate, and each skips one check#
Ask on a forum and you get two confident answers.
The first is "just set the transformer to ON." Leave it on all the time, the reasoning goes, and let the smart plug decide when the lights get power. That is exactly what the first poster in SmartThings thread 138217 planned in 2018. Then other owners in the same thread reported the catch. One plugged a Hampton Bay transformer set to manual on into a Wi-Fi socket. When the plug cycled, "the transformer seems to reset and the lights dont go back on again." Another could not get one "to stay on in the manual function."
The second answer is "any 15 A plug is fine." A landscape transformer draws a few amps, and the plug says 15 A, so the sums look easy. But the 15 A on most plugs is for ordinary loads. The one plug read here that rates transformers at all gives them about half of that.
Both are half right. A plug can switch a transformer. But the transformer's setting decides whether the lights come on, and the plug's transformer rating decides whether it is sized for the job.
The terms the answer rests on#
- Landscape lighting transformer. The box that plugs into a 120 V outlet and feeds low-voltage yard lights. The ones read here put out 12 to 15 V AC. Many of those read here also carry a timer, a photocell (a light sensor), or both.
- Magnetic transformer. One built from wire wound on an iron or ring-shaped (toroidal) core. Lutron's Dimming Basics calls this kind "Magnetic (core and coil, toroidal)" and lists its electrical character as "Inductive". Magnitude's Otter is an "Encapsulated toroidal core", and Step 1 Dezigns sells "Magnetic Non Dimmable" units.
- VA (volt-amperes). Volts times amps, which is what a plug's contacts actually carry. On a magnetic transformer it is more than the lamp watts. Lutron says a control's VA rating "includes the magnetic transformer heat losses and the lamp load."
- Manual, timed and photocell modes. The transformer's own controls. Manual turns the lights on or off by hand. Timed uses a clock. Photocell turns them on at dusk.
Check 1: does the transformer come back on?#
A smart plug can only give the transformer power or take it away. It cannot press a button on the panel. So the question is what the transformer does at the moment power arrives. The answer depends on what kind of control it has.
A mechanical timer, or no control at all: yes. Diode Drive's LVT manual covers a dial timer that plugs into the transformer. With every tab on the dial pushed in, the manual says the "timer will not affect function and connected lights will stay on unless power is switched off." It adds that the slide switch on top can set the system to "always on". Both are physical positions, so they are still set when power comes back. Magnitude's Otter goes further. Its sheet says the cabinet "Accommodates a wide variety of plug-in timers and wireless controls (Wi-Fi, Zigbee, etc.)".
A digital panel in manual mode: not reliably. On the digital panels read here, manual ON is a button press, not a switch position. Hampton Bay's SL-200-12A guide says to select MANUAL ON/OFF, then "Press the UP arrow button to turn on the lights." The Harbor Breeze 300 W manual (model 8201081015) uses the same words. Neither manual says manual mode survives a power cut. Hampton Bay's says the reverse: "In the event of a power outage the transformer functions may need to be reset." To the transformer, a smart plug turning off is a power outage.
The fix from the thread: Timed mode, all day. In September 2020 a SmartThings user posted the workaround. "Use the Timed On/Off mode instead of Manual mode. Set Timed On to 12:00AM and Timed Off to 11:59PM, i.e. ON all day. Now you should be able to use your smart outlet to control." In January 2021 another owner replied that it "worked perfectly for me when everything else failed."
Two details make that fix less tidy than it sounds.
- It leaves a one-minute gap. Off at 11:59 PM and on at 12:00 AM means the lights blink off for a minute each night. If your plug schedule runs past midnight, you will see it.
- Timed mode needs the clock. Harbor Breeze puts it plainly: "If the local time is not setted, the TIME ON/OFF MODE and PHOTO EYE ON TIMER OFF MODE will not work." Neither digital manual says whether the clock survives a power cut. Owners report the trick works, and the only way to know for your unit is the test below.
One detail in the thread is easy to misread. The poster with the Hampton Bay 45 W transformer (SL-45-12A) got it working without Timed mode. They "made sure the photo cell is covered" and changed nothing else. The failures came from other owners, whose Hampton Bay models the thread does not name. So the 45 W unit is not proof that manual mode fails. Your unit is the only one that matters, and it takes a minute to check.
Check 2: the plug's transformer rating, not its 15 A#
A magnetic transformer is an inductive load, and plug makers rate those separately. Two of them show how.
Lutron prints a transformer rating. Its sell sheet for the Caseta outdoor smart plug, PD-15OUT, lists three load types. It "Switches 15 A lighting load, ½ HP motor load, 1200 VA (8 A) lighting transformer/magnetic ballast loads". So the transformer figure is just over half of the lighting figure. The HomeWorks version, HQR-15OUT, prints the same three ratings in its spec.
TP-Link prints none. The Kasa EP40A is rated "15A, 1875W, 1/2 HP Motor", and its datasheet says "15A maximum load in total" across both outlets. Neither page names transformers. TP-Link's FAQ 667 says its plugs are "designed primarily for resistive loads". It also says they are "not suitable for high-power inductive loads" driven by motors, because they "typically generate a high inrush current during startup, which may exceed the plug's rated current." Its table allows inductive motor loads of "≤ 1HP" on the P100 example. The FAQ never mentions transformers either way.
So "any 15 A plug is fine" fails twice. The only transformer rating found is 8 A, not 15. And most plugs give no transformer figure at all, so the 15 A on them is not a promise about a transformer.
Lutron prints both 1200 VA and 8 A. At 120 V, 8 A is 960 VA, so the two do not agree. Use 8 A, the lower one.
| Control | Type | Rating its maker publishes for transformers | Other ratings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lutron Caseta PD-15OUT | Outdoor plug | 1200 VA (8 A) "lighting transformer/magnetic ballast" | 15 A lighting, 1/2 HP |
| Lutron HomeWorks HQR-15OUT | Outdoor plug | 1200 VA (8 A) | 15 A lighting, 1/2 HP |
| Lutron Caseta PD-5WS-DV | In-wall switch | MLV 600 VA / 475 W; 450 VA / 350 W end of gang; 350 VA / 275 W middle | LED 5 A |
| Lutron Caseta PD-5ANS | In-wall switch, neutral | MLV 600 VA at every position | LED 5 A |
| Lutron Caseta PD-6ANS | In-wall switch, neutral | MLV 720 VA, 720 VA at end of gang, 600 VA in the middle | LED 6 A, 5 A in the middle |
| TP-Link Kasa EP40A | Outdoor plug, two outlets | None published | 15 A, 1875 W, 1/2 HP, total for both outlets |
MLV means magnetic low voltage, Lutron's term for a magnetic transformer load. The in-wall rows are from Lutron's Caseta spec submittal 369987. They matter if the transformer's outlet is on a wall switch. Note that the PD-5WS-DV's figure drops when it shares a box with other controls. How much smart dimmers derate when ganged explains why position in the gang changes a rating.
How many amps a landscape transformer draws#
Some transformer sheets print an input current. These are the ones read for this page, in November 2026.
| Transformer | Rated output | Input current on the sheet | Type on the sheet |
|---|---|---|---|
| Step 1 Dezigns SS120W | 120 W | 1 A | Magnetic |
| Magnitude Otter OTR150L | 150 W | 1.25 A | Toroidal |
| Step 1 Dezigns SS200W | 200 W | 1.4 A | Magnetic |
| Magnitude Otter OTR300L | 300 W | 2.45 A | Toroidal |
| Step 1 Dezigns SS300W | 300 W | 2.5 A | Magnetic |
| Kichler 15E120BK | 120 W | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hampton Bay SL-200-12A | 200 W | Not stated in the guide | Not stated |
Step 1 gives each figure as "Max. input current at full load." Magnitude gives the Otter's efficiency as ">91%".
When a sheet gives watts only, Lutron's arithmetic fills the gap. Its Dimming Basics says a magnetic transformer "dissipates less than 20% of the connected load as heat", with a UL limit of at least 80% efficient. Its example is 1000 VA through the control: 800 W of lamps plus 200 W of heat. So divide the transformer's rated watts by 0.8 to get its VA, then by 120 to get amps. For the Kichler 15E120BK, that is 120 ÷ 0.8 = 150 VA, or 1.25 A.
And Lutron's rule for adding transformers is on its AYLV dimmer sheet: "The total VA rating of the transformer(s) shall not exceed the VA rating of the dimmer." That means the transformer's rating, not the bulbs you happen to have on it today.
Worked through: two transformers on one Lutron outdoor plug#
Here is one case, walked through the published figures. Suppose a yard has a Magnitude Otter OTR300L on the front beds and a Kichler 15E120BK on the path. You want both on one Lutron PD-15OUT.
- The Otter. Its sheet gives 2.45 A.
- The Kichler. Its sheet gives 120 W only. By Lutron's arithmetic, that is 150 VA, or 1.25 A.
- Together. 2.45 + 1.25 = 3.7 A, under the plug's 8 A transformer rating. That works.
Now suppose you add a 600 W magnetic transformer for the back fence, and its sheet gives watts only. 600 ÷ 0.8 = 750 VA, or 6.25 A. The total becomes 9.95 A. That is under the plug's 15 A lighting figure and over its 8 A transformer figure. This is the exact case "any 15 A plug is fine" gets wrong. Put the 600 W unit on its own plug.
Then check the modes. The OTR300L's sheet lists no timer or panel, only an optional light sensor, and Magnitude builds it to be switched by plug-in controls. The Kichler's sheet names no timer or panel. If yours has one, run the plug test above before you trust a schedule.
Fitting the plug, and the radio#
GFCI comes first. Lutron's HQR-15OUT spec says it "Must be used with a GFCI protected outlet." Diode Drive says the transformer goes on a "GFCI-protected receptacle marked suitable for wet locations," under a weatherproof cover.
Hampton Bay's wording is stricter. Its SL-200-12A guide says "Plug the power supply unit directly into a GFCI wet location outlet" and "Do not use an extension cord." A smart plug between the two is not "directly". On that model, the plug is outside what the guide allows. Magnitude, by contrast, builds the Otter cabinet to hold plug-in controls.
No dimming plugs. Hampton Bay says "Do not use with a dimmer," and Diode Drive says not to use the LVT "with dimmer or extension cord". So pick a plain on/off plug, not a lamp dimmer plug.
Inside the cabinet, the plug has to fit. Some transformers have room inside for a plug-in timer: Diode Drive's LVT has a timer plug, and the Otter takes plug-in controls. In VOLT's forum, an owner wrote in 2017 that a WeMo plug "works great, but you have to get a flat plug". Otherwise the plug gets mashed when you shut the door. In June 2026, another owner said two Caseta outdoor plugs fit "a bit snugly" inside a 600 W VOLT cabinet and had "worked flawlessly for years."
Radio trouble has been reported. In the same June 2026 thread, an owner said a Caseta plug next to a VOLT VTR-100 transformer would turn the lights on but not off. It only worked with the plug about 8 ft away. That is one report, not a test. But a transformer cabinet is a crowded, sometimes metal place for a radio, and radio interference in the smart home covers what to try. Lutron's plug uses its own radio, which proprietary radios explains. A Wi-Fi plug needs a signal that reaches the far side of the yard.
Setting it up#
Set the transformer to come on with power
Dial timer: push in every tab, or set the slide switch to "always on". Digital panel: Timed mode, 12:00 AM to 11:59 PM, with the photocell covered.
Run the plug test
Pull the plug for 30 seconds. The lights should come back without a button press.
Add up the transformers
Use each sheet's input current, or rated watts ÷ 0.8 ÷ 120. Keep the total under the plug's transformer rating: 8 A on Lutron's outdoor plug.
Schedule from the plug
Set the times in the plug's app or your hub.
The plug's own restart matters too. Lutron's HQR-15OUT spec has "Power failure memory", which returns the plug to "its previously set On or Off state" when power comes back. TP-Link's EP40A pages do not say what the plug does. What still works when the internet goes down covers which schedules keep running, and local versus cloud control explains why a hub such as Home Assistant keeps one going with the internet down. Automation design covers how to build schedules that keep working.
Where this page stops#
This page covers the transformers and plugs whose documents were read, as of November 2026. It does not cover transformers with their own Wi-Fi app, and it says nothing about Malibu, FX Luminaire or VOLT transformer manuals, which were not read. Hampton Bay's 45 W guide was not read either. The 1200 VA and 8 A figures are Lutron's for its own plugs, and other brands' plugs may rate transformers differently or not at all. Lutron's 0.8 is a planning figure, not a measurement of any one transformer. Diode Drive also says not to exceed 70% of its transformer's maximum wattage, which is a rule for the lamps on the transformer, not the plug. Electronic (solid-state) transformers and LED drivers are a different load from magnetic ones, and this page makes no claim about how a plug handles them.
Outdoor 120 V work has rules beyond any plug. The outlet needs GFCI protection and a cover that closes, and none of the plug documents read here claims ground fault protection. If the transformer is hardwired rather than plugged in, it needs a rated in-wall switch, not a plug, and smart switches and the neutral wire is the place to start. For string lights rather than low-voltage fixtures, how many Christmas light strings an outdoor smart plug can run has the end-to-end caps, and the other loads a plug should not switch are in smart plugs and what their energy numbers are worth. A doorbell transformer is a different device altogether: see what transformer a video doorbell needs. With Matter, the plug is an on/off plug-in unit, the same relay with the same rating whatever drives it.
Can you put a landscape lighting transformer on a smart plug?
Yes, if the transformer comes on by itself when the plug restores power, and the plug is rated for it. A dial timer with all tabs pushed in comes back on. A digital panel in manual mode may not. For the rating, Lutron's Caseta outdoor plug gives 1200 VA (8 A) for transformers, against 15 A for lighting.
Why won't my landscape lights turn on with a smart plug?
Usually because the transformer's manual mode is a button press, not a switch position. Hampton Bay's guide says functions "may need to be reset" after a power outage, and a plug turning off is one. SmartThings owners fixed it with Timed mode set to on at 12:00 AM and off at 11:59 PM.
What setting should a landscape transformer be on for a smart plug?
Whatever setting brings the lights on when power returns. On a dial timer, push in every tab, or set the slide switch to always on. On a digital panel, try Timed mode from 12:00 AM to 11:59 PM, with the photocell covered. Then pull the plug for 30 seconds and see if the lights come back.
Is a 15 amp smart plug enough for a landscape transformer?
The 15 A is not the number to check. A magnetic transformer is an inductive load, and Lutron rates its outdoor plug for 8 A of transformer load against 15 A of lighting. TP-Link's Kasa EP40A gives no transformer rating. A 300 W magnetic transformer draws about 2.5 A by its spec sheet, so check the sum of all transformers against the transformer figure.
How many amps does a 300 watt landscape transformer draw?
About 2.5 A at full load. Magnitude's Otter OTR300L lists 2.45 A and Step 1 Dezigns' SS300W lists 2.5 A. If a sheet gives watts only, divide by 0.8 for transformer losses, as Lutron's Dimming Basics does, then by 120 V: 300 W gives 375 VA, or about 3.1 A.
Can a smart plug go inside the transformer box?
On some. Magnitude's Otter cabinet is built to hold plug-in timers and wireless controls. VOLT forum owners say you may need a flat plug so the door closes. Hampton Bay's SL-200-12A guide says to plug it directly into a GFCI outlet, so a plug in between is outside that guide.
Primary sources
Specification and vendor documentation we checked while writing this page. Where a claim depends on firmware behaviour rather than a published spec, the page says so inline.
- SmartThings Community, transformer on smart outlet in garage (thread 138217, 2018 to 2021)
- Hampton Bay, SL-200-12A 200 W landscape transformer use and care guide (Home Depot copy)
- Harbor Breeze, 300 W transformer model 8201081015 manual (Lowe's copy)
- Diode Drive, LVT series low voltage landscape transformers user manual V2 (06/15/2020)
- Magnitude, Otter landscape transformer series 150W/300W specification sheet REV021 (12/04/2023)
- Step 1 Dezigns, magnetic non-dimmable stainless steel landscape transformers SS120W, SS200W, SS300W spec sheet
- Kichler, Standard Series 120W transformer 15E120BK spec sheet (evolt.ca copy)
- Lutron, Caseta outdoor smart plug PD-15OUT-BL sell sheet
- Lutron, HomeWorks outdoor plug-in switch HQR-15OUT-BL product specifications 3691248b (01.10.24)
- Lutron, Caseta load controls specification submittal 369987 (rev. 2.24.23), distributor copy
- Lutron, Dimming Basics
- Lutron, Ariadni and Toggler magnetic low-voltage dimmer AYLV-600P installation sheet 030520g
- TP-Link, Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug EP40A specifications
- TP-Link, Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug EP40 (US) 1.0 datasheet (April 2021)
- TP-Link, what loads can be connected to the Tapo/Kasa plug (FAQ 667, updated 09-29-2026)
- VOLT Lighting forum, Lutron Caseta smart plug or switch (June 2026)
- VOLT Lighting forum, WeMo smart plugs for lighting control (2017)