Can you plug a refrigerator into a smart plug?
Not as something you switch. The amps are rarely the problem; the switch is. Every refrigerator and freezer manual read here says to use an outlet that cannot be turned off, and a smart plug is an outlet built to be turned off.
Two answers circulate, and both miss the point#
The first says a refrigerator uses so little power that any smart plug will do. It is half right. Frigidaire's FFFC07M4NW chest freezer is rated at 282 kWh a year, which averages out to about 32 W, a fraction of what a 15 A plug carries. Averages hide the compressor, though. The same spec sheet gives the freezer a connected load of 0.6 kW and 5 A at 120 V, and when a compressor starts it draws more than its running current, which is the load plug makers write their warnings about.
The second says never, because the compressor will destroy the plug. That depends on the plug. A plug rated for the motor can carry a refrigerator; Zooz lists refrigerators on the ZEN15's "OK to use with" list.
What both answers skip is the part the appliance makers actually wrote down. Their objection is not to the current. It is to the outlet being one that can be turned off. A smart plug that can carry a refrigerator is still a switch in front of it, and a switch has buttons, apps, voice assistants, scenes and automations attached to it, all of which can turn it off.
What the refrigerator and freezer makers wrote#
Every manual read for this page has the same rule, in nearly the same words.
- Whirlpool, undercounter refrigerator WUR50X24HZ: "It is recommended that a separate circuit serving only your Refrigerator be provided. Use an outlet that cannot be turned off by a switch. Do not use an extension cord." It also says "Do not use an adapter."
- Frigidaire, chest freezer manuals (FFCS0762AW and document A31283301): "Do not plug the unit into an electrical outlet controlled by a wall switch or pull cord to prevent the appliance from being turned off accidentally." The freezer "must be plugged into its own dedicated 115 Volt, 60 Hz., 15 Amp, AC only electrical outlet" and "plugged directly into a properly grounded three-prong receptacle." No extension cord or adapter plug.
- LG, refrigerator owner's manual: "Do not use an outlet that can be turned off with a switch. Do not use an extension cord." It also rules out "a multi-outlet extension cord."
Frigidaire's wording gives the reason: "to prevent the appliance from being turned off accidentally." None of the manuals mention smart plugs by name, but the rule covers them. A smart plug is an outlet that can be turned off with a switch, and it also sits between the plug and the receptacle the way an adapter does, which "plugged directly into" rules out.
How many amps a refrigerator is rated for#
Frigidaire's spec sheets are unusual in publishing a rated current for each model. Seven, read in October 2026; some of these sheets date from 2012 and 2013, so treat them as typical of the type rather than of what is in stores today.
| Model | Type | Amps at 120 V | Connected load | Annual energy | Average power |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FFTR1814WW | 18.3 cu ft top freezer refrigerator | 3 A | Not stated | 410 kWh | About 47 W |
| FFHT1817L | 18 cu ft top mount refrigerator | 4.5 A | 0.54 kW | Not stated | |
| FGHS2342LF | 23 cu ft side-by-side | 8.5 A | 1.02 kW | Not stated | |
| FFHS2311 | 22 cu ft side-by-side | 8.5 A | 1.02 kW | Not stated | |
| FFFC07M4NW | 7 cu ft chest freezer | 5 A | 0.6 kW | 282 kWh | About 32 W |
| FFCH13M2MW | 13 cu ft chest freezer | 5 A | 0.6 kW | 326 kWh | About 37 W |
| LFUH17F2N | 17 cu ft upright freezer | 5 A | 0.6 kW | Not stated |
Average power is this page's arithmetic: annual kWh divided by the 8,760 hours in a year. Every sheet that states a minimum circuit gives 15 A.
Two things to take from the table:
- The rating is 10 to 20 times the average. The chest freezer averages about 32 W against a 600 W connected load. That gap is why "a fridge only uses 40 watts" and "a fridge needs its own 15 A circuit" are both true, and why a plug sized on the average is sized on the wrong number.
- Side-by-sides are rated highest. The two side-by-side models are rated 8.5 A, nearly double the top freezer models. The spec sheets do not say what the rating includes beyond the total.
Plug ratings against those amps#
Plug makers rate motors in horsepower. The bridge to amps is NEC Table 430.248, which gives single-phase motor full-load current at 115 V: 1/6 HP is 4.4 A, 1/3 HP is 7.2 A, 1/2 HP is 9.8 A and 3/4 HP is 13.8 A. The same conversion is used on the window air conditioner page.
| Plug | Rating | Motor rating in amps | What the maker says about refrigerators |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kasa EP10 (Smart Plug Mini) | 15 A, 1800 W resistive, 1/6 HP motor | 4.4 A | TP-Link: "not suitable" |
| Tapo and Kasa plugs generally | Varies by model | TP-Link: "not suitable for high-power inductive loads driven by motors, such as air conditioners, refrigerators, or washing machines" | |
| Leviton D215P | 15 A general use, 3/4 HP motor | 13.8 A | Nothing |
| Zooz ZEN15 (Z-Wave) | 15 A, 1800 W, overload cutoff above 16.5 A for over 5 s | No horsepower given | Lists refrigerators as "OK to use with" |
Set the two tables side by side:
- A 1/6 HP plug covers only the 3 A FFTR1814WW. The 4.5 A FFHT1817L is just over it, and the 5 A freezers and 8.5 A side-by-sides further still. TP-Link's own word rules out all of them regardless.
- A 3/4 HP plug such as the Leviton D215P covers every model in the table, with the 8.5 A side-by-side at 62% of its motor rating.
- The Zooz ZEN15 is the only plug read here whose maker names refrigerators as a suitable load. Its product page says that "Motors, which run in fridges, fans, and other inductive loads produce a high inrush current at start-up which may damage the electronics in regular smart plugs", and that the ZEN15 "was designed to handle these amperage spikes."
TP-Link's FAQ explains why the resistive figure is the wrong one to read: inductive appliances, among which it names refrigerators, "may damage the smart plug even if the device's rated power appears to be within the supported limit." The same FAQ asks that the load "not exceed 80% of the rated maximum capacity." The 15 A on the box is for a heater, and the space heater page shows what happens to that number under a long resistive load.
Why the off switch is the real risk#
A plug that cannot carry the compressor fails visibly. A plug that can carry it fails quietly, by being turned off. The paths to that are ordinary:
- Someone presses the button on the plug, which is behind or beside the refrigerator where it gets bumped. The Kasa EP10 and Leviton D215P both have one; Leviton calls it an "integrated button" for "manual on/off control."
- A group or scene that turns off everything. An "all off" scene, a "goodnight" routine or a voice command to a room catches every switch in it, and a plug that controls a refrigerator looks like every other switch to the controller. Naming and structure covers how rooms and groups end up containing devices nobody meant to include.
- An automation built for something else. Energy-saving rules that turn off "idle" loads, or a misfired trigger, are the failures automation design is about.
- The plug's power-on setting after an outage. If the plug comes back off, the refrigerator stays off after the power returns. Zooz's ZEN15 defaults to remembering its previous state and can be set to turn on whenever power is restored. Leviton says the D215P "returns to last state after minor power fluctuations", which says nothing about a longer cut.
How long that costs you depends on what is in it. The FDA says an unopened refrigerator keeps food cold "for about 4 hours", and a full freezer holds temperature for about 48 hours, or 24 hours if half full, with the door closed. Frigidaire's chest freezer manuals are more generous with the lid kept shut, "at least 36 hours" for the 7 cu ft FFCS0762AW and "at least 120 hours" in the manual A31283301. A refrigerator switched off on a Friday evening is lost by Saturday morning.
If you want energy data anyway#
There is a legitimate reason to put a plug in front of a refrigerator: measuring it. A metering plug shows whether an old refrigerator is worth replacing, and watching the compressor's run pattern can spot one working too hard. If that is the goal, set it up so the plug can measure and cannot switch.
Choose a plug cleared for the load
Use a plug whose maker names refrigerators, or at least one with a motor rating above the refrigerator's rated amps. Of the plugs read here, that is the Zooz ZEN15 by name, or a 3/4 HP plug such as the Leviton D215P by the numbers. Not a 1/6 HP plug, and not a TP-Link plug, whatever its size.
Disable the button
The ZEN15's parameter 30 set to 0 disables the physical button, so "you will only be able to turn the outlet on or off remotely using your Z-Wave gateway controller."
Force it on after a power cut
Set ZEN15 parameter 21 to 1, so the plug "automatically turns ON once power is restored" instead of remembering its last state.
Keep it out of every group, scene and voice assistant
Leave it in no room that has an "all off" scene, do not expose it to Alexa or Google, and give it a name such as "Kitchen Refrigerator" that nobody would mistake for a light.
Use the reports, not the switch
The ZEN15 reports watts, amps, volts and kWh at intervals you set. A refrigerator whose draw drops to zero and stays there has lost power or its compressor; one that runs far longer than usual may have a door ajar. Frigidaire notes a freezer takes 4 hours to cool down completely after being disconnected, so expect long runs after any outage.
On a Z-Wave plug, those reports go to your own hub, not a cloud, which is the point of Z-Wave for something you want to keep working. Home Assistant can alert on the readings; Home Assistant covers the platform. A plug squeezed behind a refrigerator is also a poor radio position, and Thread mesh design calls a plug behind a refrigerator a poor relay.
The better alarm is a thermometer#
If the reason for the plug is to know when the refrigerator fails, measure temperature instead. The FDA's recommendation for outages is an appliance thermometer in both compartments, with the refrigerator at or below 40°F and the freezer at or below 0°F, and the food rule that follows is "if perishable food has been held at room temperature for 2 hours or more ... discard it."
A battery temperature sensor inside the compartment does the same job with an alert attached, and it catches failures a plug cannot see: a door left open, a failed defrost, a compressor that runs but no longer cools. It also leaves the refrigerator on its own outlet, as the manuals ask. The catch is cold. Coin cells fail fast in a freezer, which is why the sensors guide puts cell chemistry ahead of the sensor for freezer use, and a sensor's rated operating range has to reach 0°F.
During an internet outage#
A Wi-Fi plug that measures a refrigerator through a vendor cloud stops reporting when the internet does, which is when power and food questions are most likely to come up. A local Z-Wave, Zigbee or Thread sensor feeding a local hub keeps alerting as long as the hub and the network have power. What still works in an internet outage sets this out device by device, local versus cloud control explains where the alert logic lives, and the outage audit checks your own setup.
Refrigerators have their own Matter device type, added in Matter 1.2. Certified models are thin on the ground, as Matter device types sets out, so a sensor is still the practical route for most kitchens.
Before you plug anything in#
Read the refrigerator's nameplate for its rated amps, convert the plug's horsepower rating with the table above, and check the plug maker's load list. Then decide what the plug is for: an alarm is a temperature sensor's job, measurement follows the steps above, and switching is out. Add the refrigerator to the "anything that must not stop" list in what smart plugs are for, and the plug's motor rating to your pre-purchase checklist.
Where this page stops#
- Manuals read: Whirlpool WUR50X24HZ (an undercounter model), two Frigidaire chest freezer manuals and one LG refrigerator manual whose model is not printed in the copy read, as of October 2026. GE, Samsung and other brands were not read from current first-party documents, so the page makes no claim about their wording.
- Amp ratings are Frigidaire's, from spec sheets some of which date from 2012. Other makers do not publish a rated current on the documents read, and your refrigerator's nameplate is the figure that counts.
- Inrush current is not published for any refrigerator or plug read here, so the page compares rated amps with motor ratings and goes no further.
- Plugs read: Kasa EP10, Leviton D215P and Zooz ZEN15. Other plugs may name refrigerators on their own load lists.
- US, 120 V. Built-in refrigerators that are hardwired, and 230 V markets, are outside this page.
Can you plug a refrigerator into a smart plug?
Not to switch it. Whirlpool, Frigidaire and LG manuals all say to use an outlet that cannot be turned off by a switch, and TP-Link says its Kasa and Tapo plugs are not suitable for refrigerators. For monitoring only, use a plug its maker clears for refrigerators, such as the Zooz ZEN15, with its button disabled and power recovery set to on.
How many amps does a refrigerator draw?
Frigidaire's spec sheets rate its top freezer refrigerators at 3 to 4.5 A, its chest and upright freezers at 5 A, and its side-by-sides at 8.5 A, all at 120 V on a 15 A circuit. Average draw is far lower: a 7 cu ft chest freezer rated 282 kWh a year averages about 32 W.
Can I put a chest freezer on a Kasa smart plug?
TP-Link says no. Its load FAQ calls Kasa and Tapo plugs not suitable for refrigerators, and the Kasa EP10's 1/6 HP motor rating converts to 4.4 A, below the 5 A Frigidaire gives its chest freezers. Frigidaire's freezer manuals also rule out any outlet that can be turned off by a switch.
What is the best way to monitor a freezer?
A temperature sensor inside it, set to alert above 0°F, the FDA's freezer threshold. It catches an open door or a failed compressor as well as a power cut, and leaves the freezer on its own outlet. Choose the battery for the cold, because ordinary coin cells fail quickly in a freezer.
Will a refrigerator restart by itself after a power cut?
The Frigidaire freezer manuals read here say that when power is restored, all settings except Freeze Boost resume. A smart plug in front of it has its own power-on setting, though, and if that brings the plug back off, the refrigerator stays off.
Primary sources
Specification and vendor documentation we checked while writing this page. Where a claim depends on firmware behaviour rather than a published spec, the page says so inline.
- Whirlpool, undercounter refrigerator use and care guide WUR50X24HZ
- Frigidaire, chest freezer user manual FFCS0762AW
- Frigidaire, chest freezer user manual A31283301 (2026)
- LG, refrigerator owner's manual (2016, Home Depot-hosted copy)
- Frigidaire, FFTR1814WW top freezer refrigerator specification sheet (2021)
- Frigidaire, FFHT1817L top mount refrigerator product specifications
- Frigidaire, FGHS2342LF side-by-side refrigerator product specifications
- Frigidaire, FFHS2311 side-by-side refrigerator product specifications (Lowe's copy)
- Frigidaire, FFFC07M4NW chest freezer product specifications
- Frigidaire, FFCH13M2MW chest freezer product specifications
- Frigidaire, LFUH17F2N upright freezer specifications (2012, Lowe's copy)
- TP-Link, what loads can be connected to the Tapo/Kasa plug (FAQ 667)
- TP-Link, what should I do if my smart plug feels warm (FAQ 2650)
- Kasa, Smart Plug Mini EP10 product page
- Leviton, Decora Smart Wi-Fi Mini Plug-In Switch D215P
- Zooz, ZEN15 power switch product page
- Zooz, ZEN15 800LR power switch manual
- Elliott Electric Supply, full load current for single-phase motors (NEC Table 430.248, 2020)
- US FDA, food and water safety during power outages and floods