Which smart thermostat works with electric baseboard heaters?

Only a line-voltage one, and among those three numbers decide: the total watts on the circuit, the minimum load, and how many wires are in the box. Nest and ecobee are out before any of that, because they are built for 24 V systems.

Two answers circulate, and both skip the part that decides#

The first answer says any smart thermostat will do with the right adapter, the way a Nest or an ecobee gets around a missing C wire. It will not. Electric baseboard runs at 120 or 240 V through the thermostat itself, and the furnace thermostats switch a 24 V control circuit. ecobee lists line voltage as incompatible on its own checker, as smart thermostats and the C wire explains, and no adapter in the C-wire comparison changes that.

The second answer says any line-voltage smart thermostat will do, so buy the one with the nicest app. That is closer, but it skips the three numbers that make one fit and another fail. The models below differ by 1,000 W in what they can carry, by 500 W in the least they need to see, and on whether they can run from two wires at all. Every one of those differences is published by the maker. It just is not published side by side.

The line-voltage smart thermostats, side by side#

As each maker publishes them, read in October 2026. Watts are the maximum for all heaters on the thermostat combined.

ThermostatMax at 240 VMax at 120 VMinimum loadWires in the boxSwitchingRadio
Mysa for Baseboard Gen34,000 W (16.7 A)2,000 WNot stated3 to 4, neutral or L2 requiredTriac, one line switchedWi-Fi 2.4 GHz, Matter certified
Mysa for Baseboard V2 ($159)3,800 W (16 A)1,900 W250 WNeutral or L2 required; 20 A breaker maxOne line switchedWi-Fi 2.4 GHz
Mysa LITE for Baseboard ($99)3,800 W (16 A)1,900 WNoneNeutral or L2 required; 20 A breaker maxOne line switchedWi-Fi 2.4 GHz
Sinopé TH1123WF3,000 W (12.5 A)1,500 W500 W at 240 V, 250 W at 120 V2 or 4TriacWi-Fi 2.4 GHz
Sinopé TH1124WF4,000 W (16.7 A)2,000 W500 W at 240 V, 250 W at 120 V2 or 4TriacWi-Fi 2.4 GHz
Sinopé TH1133WF (Lite)3,000 W (12.5 A)1,500 W300 W at 240 V, 250 W at 120 V3 onlyNot statedWi-Fi 2.4 GHz
Sinopé TH1123ZB3,000 W (12.5 A)1,500 W500 W at 240 V, 250 W at 120 V2 or 4TriacZigbee 3.0
King Hoot K9013,840 W (16 A)1,920 WNot statedNot statedSingle poleWi-Fi
King Hoot K9023,840 W (16 A)1,920 WNot statedNot statedDouble poleWi-Fi

Sources: Mysa's Gen3, V2 and LITE spec sheets and product pages (US prices), Sinopé's TH1123WF fact sheet, TH1123WF and TH1124WF instruction sheet, and its Lite and Zigbee product pages, and King Electric's Hoot WIFI specification sheet. Sinopé also sells a 4000 W Lite (TH1134WF) and Zigbee model (TH1124ZB) with the same 16.7 A and 4,000 W ratings as the TH1124WF.

What the table settles:

  1. The low-cost models carry less. Sinopé's TH1123WF, TH1133WF and TH1123ZB stop at 3,000 W. Every other model here reaches 3,800 W or more.
  2. The minimum load is the number most people never check. Sinopé's standard models need 500 W at 240 V before they will regulate a baseboard properly. Mysa's LITE states no minimum at all, and the V2 asks for 250 W.
  3. Two wires narrow the list to Sinopé's TH1123 and TH1124 families. Mysa says "If you only have two wires, it is a 'switch loop' and Mysa will not work without rewiring." Sinopé's Lite is "Compatible with 3-wire installations only." The TH1123 and TH1124, in Wi-Fi and Zigbee, are listed for "2 or 4-wire installations."
  4. Only one model here is sold as double pole. King lists the K902 as "2P", and Mysa states its own design "functions internally as a single-pole device." Why that can matter is below.

How many feet of baseboard one thermostat can run#

Read the watts on each heater's label and add them up. If a label is gone, Sinopé gives a rule: "number of watts = 250 watts x baseboard length (ft)", with the example that "a 6 ft baseboard equals 1500 watts at 240 volts." Sinopé adds that "This formula applies to a 240 Vac installation only."

Applied to the maximums and minimums in the table, at 240 V:

Thermostat limitWattsFeet of baseboard at 250 W per foot
Sinopé TH1123WF, TH1133WF, TH1123ZB maximum3,000 W12 ft
Mysa V2 and LITE maximum3,800 W15.2 ft
King Hoot K901 and K902 maximum3,840 W15.4 ft
Mysa Gen3, Sinopé TH1124WF maximum4,000 W16 ft
Sinopé TH1123WF and TH1123ZB minimum500 W2 ft
Sinopé TH1133WF minimum300 W1.2 ft

So a living room with an 8 ft and a 6 ft baseboard on one thermostat, 3,500 W by the rule, is over every Sinopé 3000 W model and under the 3,800 W and 4,000 W ones. A single 2 ft heater in a bathroom sits right at the TH1123WF's 500 W floor, and anything smaller is under it.

If your home has 208 V service, common in apartment buildings, the amp figure is the one that holds. King states 3,328 W at 208 V for the Hoot, which is its 16 A times 208 V; the same arithmetic gives 2,600 W for a 12.5 A Sinopé. A heater rated for 240 V also puts out less at 208 V, about 75% of its label by resistance arithmetic (208 squared over 240 squared), so the label overstates the load there.

What the number of wires in the box means#

Turn off the breaker, take the old thermostat off the wall, and count the conductors connected to it, leaving out bare or green grounds.

A white wire in the box is not proof of a neutral on a 240 V heater circuit, where it is often the second hot line. The neutral wire guide covers how to read what is there. A smart thermostat is also deeper than most dial thermostats (Mysa Gen3 is 1.9 in deep), so check the box has room for it and the wire connectors, using the method in box depth and fill.

Single pole, double pole, and the "off" position#

Mysa says plainly that its baseboard models switch one line, and King sells the Hoot in a single-pole version (K901) and a double-pole one (K902). Sinopé's documents read here state neither. Mysa's baseboard model "requires a connection to both power wires (L1 and L2/Neutral) but only switches the power to the heater on one of those wires (the load wire)." On a 240 V heater, the other line stays live at the heater when the thermostat shows off.

That matters for one reason. The National Electrical Code lets a thermostat double as the heater's disconnecting means only under conditions. Section 424.20(A) of the 2020 NEC, as EC&M summarizes it, requires a marked OFF position, that it "Directly opens all HOT conductors in the OFF position," that the circuit cannot come back on automatically once the device is placed in OFF, and that it is within sight of the heater and accessible. A thermostat that switches one line cannot meet the second condition.

If the old double-pole thermostat was the heater's disconnect, a single-pole smart one leaves the breaker, or another listed disconnect, to do that job. Whether that is acceptable where you live is a question for an electrician or the local inspector, and many jurisdictions require one for this work in any case. King's K902 is the double-pole option among the models read, but its specification sheet does not say whether its off position opens both lines, so this page does not claim it serves as a disconnect.

Fan-forced heaters, in-floor heat and what is excluded#

Wi-Fi, Zigbee or Matter#

Every Wi-Fi model here uses 2.4 GHz only, which is the band Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz pairing problems are about. Beyond that, the radio decides which hub, if any, sits between the thermostat and your phone.

None of the documents read say what each thermostat does when the internet is down. The questions to ask are in what still works in an internet outage, and why it depends on where the schedule runs is in local versus cloud control.

Which thermostat, by situation#

Your situationWhat fits, from the models readWhy
Two wires in the boxSinopé TH1123WF or TH1124WF, or Zigbee TH1123ZB or TH1124ZBMysa and Sinopé's Lite need a third wire
Over 3,000 W on one thermostat at 240 VMysa Gen3, V2 or LITE, Sinopé TH1124WF or TH1124ZB, King HootThe standard Sinopé models stop at 3,000 W
One small heater, under 500 WMysa LITE (no minimum), or Mysa V2 down to 250 WSinopé's standard models need 500 W at 240 V
One fan-forced bathroom heaterMysa, or Sinopé set to FAN with a 1,000 W heater (500 W on the Lite)Sinopé's fan-forced minimum is higher
You want MatterMysa Gen3The only Matter certified model read
You run SmartThings or Hubitat with ZigbeeSinopé TH1123ZB or TH1124ZBSinopé lists both as gateways
The old thermostat was double pole and served as the disconnectKing Hoot K902, after an electrician confirms it qualifies, or keep a separate disconnectMysa switches one line, and Sinopé does not say

Renters should read a smart home for renters before touching a line-voltage box, and anyone buying several should add the wire count and wattage per room to the pre-purchase checklist.

Where this page stops#

Can I use a Nest or ecobee on electric baseboard heaters?

No. Nest and ecobee thermostats are built for 24 V heating and cooling systems, and electric baseboard runs at 120 or 240 V through the thermostat. ecobee lists line voltage as incompatible. You need a line-voltage smart thermostat such as Mysa, Sinopé or King's Hoot.

How many baseboard heaters can one smart thermostat control?

As many as fit under its maximum watts combined. That is 3,000 W at 240 V for Sinopé's TH1123WF, 3,800 W for Mysa's V2 and LITE, 3,840 W for King's Hoot and 4,000 W for Mysa Gen3 and Sinopé's TH1124WF. By Sinopé's 250 W per foot rule, 3,000 W is about 12 ft of baseboard and 4,000 W about 16 ft.

Is there a smart baseboard thermostat that works with two wires?

Yes. Sinopé's TH1123WF and TH1124WF, and the Zigbee TH1123ZB and TH1124ZB, are listed for two-wire or four-wire installations. Mysa says its baseboard thermostats will not work on a two-wire switch loop without rewiring, and Sinopé's Lite needs three wires.

Why does my smart baseboard thermostat need a minimum load?

Sinopé's standard models need at least 500 W at 240 V on a baseboard (1,000 W for a fan-forced heater), and Mysa's V2 asks for 250 W. Below that, the thermostat is outside its rating. For a very small heater, Mysa's LITE states no minimum load.

Primary sources

Specification and vendor documentation we checked while writing this page. Where a claim depends on firmware behaviour rather than a published spec, the page says so inline.