How many Christmas light strings can you plug into an outdoor smart plug?

As many as the strings allow, which is far fewer than the plug allows. The 1,875 W on the plug is a total for the plug. Each run of strings stops at the cap printed on its own cord tag, 210 W on 22 AWG wire, and the plug does not raise it.

Two answers circulate, and only one is about the strings#

The first answer reads the plug. An outdoor smart plug such as the Kasa EP40A is rated "15A, 1875W", an LED mini set draws 4 to 7 W, and 1,875 divided by 7.2 is 260. So, the reasoning goes, you can hang hundreds of LED strings off one plug.

The second answer reads the box the lights came in, which says something like "connect up to 29 sets" or "not to exceed 210 watts".

The second governs, because the two numbers belong to different wires. The plug's 1,875 W is the most the plug may carry, in total. The 210 W is what the thin wire in a light string may carry, and in a chain of strings plugged end to end, every set's current passes through the first set's wire. A bigger plug upstream does nothing for that wire; the only protection sized for it is the fuse in the first string's plug.

So the plug's number tells you how many separate runs you can feed, and the string's number how long each run can be. "Hundreds of strings" is only true as several runs of a few dozen, each starting at the plug.

Where the 210 W comes from#

Christmas Lights, Etc. summarizes the history. The old rule was that "only three strings could be linked together." In February 2008 UL 588, the standard for seasonal and holiday decorative products, was revised for lower wattage lights: on 22 gauge wire, any number of strings can be linked "so long as the wattage does not exceed 210", and on 20 gauge wire up to 420. That is 1.75 A and 3.5 A at 120 V.

You do not need to know the gauge, because the standard makes the maker print the answer. The UL 588 update notice Intertek issued in 2020 gives the required cord tag wording at clause 125.4.3: "This lighting string is rated ___ Watts (___ Amps), do not overload. Connect other lighting strings or decorative outfits end-to-end up to a maximum of ___ Watts (___ Amps) total." The total is filled in as "the conductor wattage based on 120 V times the maximum conductor current" in the standard's Table 13.1. The Colorite icicle set read for this page carries the first half of that line: "This lighting string is rated 5 Watts (0.05 Amps), do not overload."

The tag is the number to use. Christmas Central's lighting guide adds the fuse sizes behind it: incandescent mini lights and most LED sets carry a 3 A fuse in the plug, and C7, C9, G40 and G50 sets a 5 A fuse.

A wall outlet feeds a two-outlet smart plug rated 1,875 W in total, and each plug outlet feeds its own run of light strings with its own 210 W cap and 3 A fuse.
The plug's rating is shared by everything downstream of it. Each run's cap belongs to the first string in that run, so the way to light more is more runs from the plug, not longer runs.

The strings: watts, caps and sets per run#

Ratings as each listing or document publishes them, read in October 2026. "Sets by watts" is the run cap divided by the set's watts, rounded down, counting the first set.

StringTypeWatts per setWireCap on the listing or sheetSets the maker allowsSets by wattsWhat limits the run
Northlight 100 LED mini, warm whiteLED7.2 W (0.06 A)22 AWG210 W"up to 29 sets"29Watts
GE 100 count blue mini, always litIncandescent48 W (0.4 A)22 AWG210 WNot given as a count4Watts
4 x 6 ft purple mini net, 150 bulbsIncandescent61.2 W (0.51 A)22 AWG210 W"up to 3 sets"3Watts
Northlight 25 opaque red C9Incandescent175 W (1.46 A)20 AWG210 W on the listingNot given1Watts: a second set makes 350 W
Colorite 100 LED 7 mm icicle, CLEDD-L7-100LED5 W (0.05 A)Not statedNot statedSeven sets on one plug and control box42 at 210 WThe printed set count
Satco S11196 16 ft rope string, S14 lampsLED4 WNot statedNot stated"Connectable Units 3"52 at 210 WThe printed set count

Three things in that table matter more than the arithmetic:

  1. The watts math checks out against the listings. 29 Northlight LED sets come to 208.8 W, just under 210 W, and the listing says 29. Three net sets come to 183.6 W, and the listing says three. Divide the cap by the set's watts and round down, and you get the maker's own count.
  2. A low set count can come from something other than watts. The instruction sheet Lowe's hosts for the Colorite set (printed by Nicolas Holiday, and naming GE StayBright sets in that paragraph) says that for end-to-end connections "up to seven (7) sets, you will need only one (1) plug and one (1) control box" and that "you may only add six (6) additional sets to your master set for a total of seven (7) connected sets." Seven sets is 35 W. The limit is the control box, not the wire, and no smart plug changes it. Satco's rope string stops at three units, 12 W.
  3. The C9 row is where 210 and 420 diverge. The Northlight C9 set is 20 AWG wire, the gauge UL 588 allows 420 W on, but its listing says "not to exceed 210 watts". On 210 W, one set is the run. On 420 W, two sets (350 W) fit. When a listing and the gauge disagree, the tag on the string in your hand decides, and if you cannot find one, use the lower number.

The plugs: what the rating covers#

Outdoor smart plugs read for this page, as published by each maker in October 2026. The 80% column applies TP-Link's FAQ 2650, which says "the load should not exceed 80% of the rated maximum capacity", and works at 120 V. It is the same line the space heater page draws for a 1,500 W heater, and a display that runs every evening for six weeks is as steady a load.

PlugRating its maker publishesShared or per outlet80% at 120 VFull 210 W runs at 80%Weather ratingOperating range
TP-Link Kasa EP40A15 A, 1875 W, 1/2 HP motor"15A maximum load in total" (EP40 datasheet)12 A, 1,440 W6IP64-4°F to 122°F
Wyze Plug Outdoor"15A Max with Overload Protection", 1/2 HP motorNot stated; two independently controlled outlets12 A, 1,440 W6IP64-4°F to 120°F
Leviton D215O, LED load"5A LED/CFL/Electronic Ballast"Not stated4 A, 480 W2IP65-20°F to 122°F
Leviton D215O, incandescent load"1500W Incandescent/Halogen"Not stated1,200 W5IP65-20°F to 122°F

The 1,875 W figure is 15 A at 125 V, the voltage TP-Link rates the EP40A at. A US outlet is nominally 120 V, where the same 15 A is 1,800 W, so do the sums at 1,800 and 1,440.

Set the two tables side by side:

How to work out your own display#

  1. Read the cord tag on the first string of each run

    Note the set's watts and the "end-to-end up to a maximum of" figure. If the tag gives only amps, multiply by 120.

  2. Count sets per run

    Divide the run cap by the set's watts and round down. If the box prints a lower set count, use that.

  3. Add up the runs

    Multiply each run's actual watts, not its cap, and add them. Mixed runs are fine: a run's cap belongs to its first string, and every set in that run must be within it.

  4. Check the plug total

    Keep the sum under 80% of the plug at 120 V: 1,440 W for a 15 A plug, 480 W of LED for the Leviton D215O.

  5. Check the circuit

    The plug shares its breaker with everything else on that circuit. A garage freezer or a block heater on the same 15 A outdoor circuit comes out of the same 1,800 W.

A worked case: a roofline of 20 Northlight LED sets (144 W) on one outlet, and a tree wrapped in four GE incandescent sets (192 W) on the other. Both runs are within 210 W, the plug carries 336 W, 18% of 1,875 W, and the circuit has room. Add a fifth GE set to the tree and the plug still has room, but that run is at 240 W, over its tag. Start a new run instead.

IP64 is about the plug, GFCI is about you#

IP64 is the plug's housing. TP-Link's datasheet explains its rating as protection "from dust and splashes of water from any direction". It is not a rating for a plug lying in a puddle, and TP-Link adds that "when not in use, the sockets should remain capped with the included weather-resistant cover." Leviton's IP65 is one step up on water, and it lists "rain, sprinklers, hoses, snow". Neither plug's page mentions ground fault protection, so neither is one.

GFCI is the outlet's job. The Colorite instructions say that "when products are used in outdoor applications, connect the product to a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupting (GFCI) outlet. If one is not provided, contact a qualified electrician." The CPSC says outdoor lights and decorations "should be plugged into circuits protected by ground-fault circuit interrupters (GFCIs) to protect against electric shock." A smart plug between the GFCI outlet and the lights does not change that requirement, and it is not a substitute for it, as smart plugs and what they are good at says for every outdoor plug.

How each maker says to mount the plug:

Between plug and strings, the CPSC says that "if using an extension cord, make sure it is rated for the intended use", and the Colorite sheet says not to use seasonal products outdoors "unless marked suitable for indoor and outdoor use."

What the plug adds, and what it cannot do#

A smart plug's job here is the schedule, and it is good at it. TP-Link says you can name and schedule each EP40 outlet separately, and Wyze gives its two outlets separate controls, so the roofline and the tree can switch at different times. The Colorite sheet asks you to "unplug when leaving the house, when retiring for the night, or if left unattended", and a plug that turns the display off at 11 p.m. does that for you.

What it cannot do:

Range is the other common failure. Wyze quotes "up to 300' WiFi range" in open space, and a plug on the far side of a brick wall in December gets much less. If the yard is beyond your Wi-Fi, a Z-Wave outdoor plug on a local hub such as Home Assistant holds a schedule with the internet down, for the reasons in local versus cloud control. An automation that turns the lights on at sunset and off at a fixed time is the kind that survives a season; automation design covers why.

Where this page stops#

How many Christmas light strings can I plug into an outdoor smart plug?

One run per outlet, each as long as the first string's tag allows: 210 W total on 22 AWG sets. That is 29 of a 7.2 W LED mini set or 4 of a 48 W incandescent set per run. A two-outlet plug such as the Kasa EP40A shares its 1,875 W across both outlets, so two full runs use about 22% of it.

Does a 15 amp smart plug let me connect more strings end to end?

No. The end-to-end limit belongs to the wire inside the first string, which carries every set connected after it. UL 588 sets it at 210 W for 22 AWG and 420 W for 20 AWG, and the maker prints it on the cord tag. The plug's rating only limits the total of all runs it feeds.

Is the 15 A on a two-outlet outdoor plug per outlet?

Not on the Kasa EP40, whose datasheet says "15A maximum load in total". Wyze gives "15A Max" without saying, so treat it as the total. Keep the combined load under 80% at 120 V, 1,440 W, which TP-Link's plug FAQ asks for.

How many LED light strings can be connected together?

Divide the end-to-end cap on the tag by the set's watts and round down. A 7.2 W, 100 LED Northlight set on a 210 W cap gives 29, which is what its listing says. Some LED sets stop much earlier for other reasons: one Colorite icicle set allows seven, set by its control box, and a Satco rope string three.

Is an IP64 smart plug safe in the rain without a GFCI?

No. IP64 means the plug is protected from dust and splashing water from any direction. It does not protect people from shock. Light makers and the CPSC say outdoor lights belong on a GFCI-protected outlet, and none of the plug documents read here claims ground fault protection.

Primary sources

Specification and vendor documentation we checked while writing this page. Where a claim depends on firmware behaviour rather than a published spec, the page says so inline.