Can you put an electric blanket or heated mattress pad on a smart plug?

Only if its controller turns back on by itself when power returns. Beautyrest's does, once you switch on a Smart Home mode. Sunbeam's standard controllers wait for a button press, so a plug can turn them off but never on. And a 10 hour auto-off ends most all-night schedules before the plug does.

Two answers circulate, and both are right for one brand#

Ask whether a heated blanket works on a smart plug and you get two firm answers. Both come from real products.

The yes comes from Beautyrest. Its Deep Pocket heated mattress pad at Target is listed as "Compatible with automatic timers and Smart Home Outlets (Auto-Run Patent)". Adam Engst of TidBITS wrote in December 2024 that he runs a Beautyrest pad from a Meross Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini, as part of a HomeKit "Good Night" scene in Apple Home.

The no comes from Sunbeam. Its manual for the Restful heated mattress pad gives one way back after an outage: "To restart all heated products after a power failure: Press the power button and the heated product will begin to warm." A smart plug turning on looks the same to the pad as power coming back after an outage. So the pad sits there with power and no heat.

Engst names the problem in one line. Turning a pad on "by supplying power", rather than with its built-in controls, "may not work". So the brand you own settles it, not a forum thread about a different one.

What a "smart outlet compatible" pad actually does#

A few terms first, because the whole answer rests on them.

So the real question is not whether the plug can carry the pad. It is what the controller does at the moment power comes back.

What each manual says happens when power comes back#

These are the controllers whose manuals were read for this page, in November 2026.

Sunbeam standard controllers: off until you press the button. The Restful manual (P.N. 191502) and Sunbeam Canada's extended mattress pad manual (P.N. 192633) both give the press-the-button rule quoted above. They say nothing about timers or smart plugs. They do say "Turn off or unplug this heated product when not in use", and a plug that cuts power is doing just that.

Beautyrest SCMP controllers: on again, once you enable it. The Beautyrest manual for its SCMP controllers (part no. SCMPM1.0) has the feature the retail listings promise. It also has a catch the listings leave out: "For Smart Home or Automatic Timer use, this feature must be enabled on the blanket controller." To do that, turn the controller off. Then hold PREHEAT and UP together for about 2 seconds, until a 20 setting controller blinks "AO" or a 5 setting controller's Preheat light blinks once. Holding the same two keys until "OF" appears, or two blinks, turns it back to normal mode. In normal mode, the manual's own test says the controller does "a power up test, then shut off".

Sunbeam Wi-Fi Connected: no plug needed. The Sunbeam Wi-Fi Connected Heated Mattress Pad has its own app, works with Google Home or Alexa, and runs on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (Costco Canada listing). Its manual has a schedule that sets the heat level, the days and how long the pad stays on. The manual says nothing about what the pad does after a power failure.

Sealy (KATA) controllers: not stated. Sealy's manual covers blankets and mattress pads with remote and desktop controllers. It gives their time setting, 1 to 12 hours, but says nothing about what happens when power returns. For a pad like that, the test further down is the only way to know.

Controller (manual read)Comes back on when the plug restores power?Auto-offWhat a smart plug can do
Sunbeam standard, including Restful (P.N. 191502, 192633)No: "Press the power button"10 hours, throws 3 hours; Auto-Off Select models can stay onTurn it off only
Beautyrest SCMP (SCMPM1.0), Smart Home mode onYes, at the last setting used10 hours by default, set 1 to 10 hours on 20 setting controllersTurn it on and off
Beautyrest SCMP, normal modeNo: power up test, then offSameTurn it off only
Sunbeam Wi-Fi Connected (ART0000922835)Not statedApp timer 30 minutes to 24 hours, 10 hours by defaultNot needed: use the app's schedule
Sealy remote and desktop controllers (KATA)Not statedTime setting 1 to 12 hoursTest it first

The 10 hour auto-off and the all-night schedule#

Even a pad that turns on from a plug will not stay on just because the plug does. The auto-off counts on its own.

Beautyrest's manual says the auto-off turns the pad off "after approximately 10 hours of continuous use", counted "from the time the control is first turned On". On 20 setting controllers you can program it from 1 to 10 hours. The factory default "is 10 hours and is the maximum allowed operating time." Sunbeam's standard pads shut off after 10 hours, and throws after 3. Only models with Auto-Off Select can show "StayOn" and skip it. Sunbeam's Wi-Fi pad defaults to 10 hours in its app. You can pick from 30 minutes to 24 hours, and "stay on - 24 hours" is the longest it allows.

Here is the part that catches schedules. Both makers restart the count when power drops. Beautyrest says the 10 hour timer "restarts any time the controller power is manually turned off or AC power is lost". Sunbeam says the outage "automatically resets the timer". So the count starts from the moment the plug turns on, not from the time you get into bed.

Timeline from 8 pm to 8 am. The smart plug is on from 9 pm to 7:30 am. A Beautyrest pad in Smart Home mode heats from 9 pm and stops at 7 am. A Sunbeam Restful pad has power the whole time but stays off.
One plug schedule, two pads. The Beautyrest pad's 10 hour auto-off fires at 7 am, half an hour before the plug turns off. The Sunbeam Restful pad never starts, because its manual says a power button press is needed after power returns.

Worked through: a 9 pm to 7:30 am plug schedule#

Here is one case, walked through the manuals. Suppose you want a warm bed at 9 pm and heat until you get up at 7:30 am. You set a smart plug to turn on at 9 pm and off at 7:30 am, which is 10 1/2 hours.

With a Beautyrest pad in Smart Home mode. At 9 pm the plug turns on. The controller does its power up test and comes back at the last setting used. Its 10 hour timer starts at 9 pm, so the pad turns off at 7 am, half an hour before you wanted. The plug's 7:30 am "off" then cuts power to a pad that is already off.

With a Sunbeam Restful pad. At 9 pm the plug turns on, and nothing heats. The pad waits for its power button. If you press it at bedtime, the 10 hour count starts then. The plug's 7:30 am "off" still works, since cutting power ends any pad's heat. So on this pad the plug is an off switch and nothing more.

The fix for the Beautyrest case is to shorten the plug's window, not stretch the pad's. Start the plug at 9:30 pm and the pad runs until 7:30 am. Or keep 9 pm and let the pad's own timer end the night at 7 am. On a 20 setting controller you can also program a shorter run, the way Engst set his to 1 hour.

There is a tempting trick: cut power for a moment at 3 am so the 10 hour count starts over. The Beautyrest manual's own wording says that would work, and that is the reason not to do it. Beautyrest calls the auto-off "designed for safety", and it calls 10 hours "the maximum allowed operating time". A schedule built to get around it is working against the one limit the maker wrote down.

Check your pad in two minutes#

Run it with the cord in the wall, not the smart plug, so you test the pad alone. Then check the plug's side. After a power cut, a plug comes back by its own power-on setting, and many apps never show that setting. What still works when the internet goes down covers which devices come back and how. A pad that turns on by itself is only as good as the plug in front of it.

If you want to use a plug anyway#

For a pad that comes back on. Turn on the pad's mode first, then set the plug's schedule inside the auto-off window. Keep the plug's off time no later than 10 hours after its on time. Put the plug in a routine you will notice. Engst's HomeKit setup plays a song on his HomePods whenever the pad turns on "during inappropriate times of the day". That is the kind of guard automations people do not turn off recommends for anything that heats.

For a pad that does not. Use the plug as an off switch only. A plug scheduled to cut power at 7:30 am ends the night on any pad. If the point was a warm bed before you get in, the pad's preheat does that from the controller. On the Sunbeam models that have it, preheat runs 30 minutes, then "the control will return to its original setting". Beautyrest's preheat has "a 1 hour built in timer".

For a pad with its own Wi-Fi. Skip the plug. Sunbeam's app already schedules the heat level, the days and how long the pad stays on. There is one limit to plan around. If you turn the pad on from the app, you must press the controller's button within 1 hour "to confirm your presence". If you don't, the heat drops to level 4 if it was set at level 5 or above. So a remote start gives you a warm bed, not a hot one, until someone touches the controller.

For the plug itself. None of the pad manuals read here prints a wattage, so read the rating label on the pad's cord and compare it with the plug's resistive rating. Sunbeam's manuals say not to use an extension cord, so plug the smart plug straight into the wall with nothing under it. A Wi-Fi plug works, and so does a Thread or Zigbee one on a hub such as Home Assistant, which keeps the schedule running locally (local versus cloud control explains the difference). With Matter it is an on/off plug-in unit, and that is all a pad needs.

How this differs from a space heater#

The Lasko and Vornado manuals on the space heater page rule out anything between a heater and the wall, and Vornado names automatic timers outright. Beautyrest does the reverse and sells its pads for "automatic timers and Smart Home Outlets". So "never put heat on a smart plug" is too broad, and "do what the maker says" holds for both. The other loads a plug should not switch are in smart plugs and what their energy numbers are worth. To have the whole house warm at 6 am, a smart thermostat does it with no plug at all.

Where this page stops#

This page covers the controllers whose manuals were read: Sunbeam standard and Restful, Sunbeam Wi-Fi Connected, Beautyrest SCMP and Sealy's KATA controllers, as of November 2026. Serta, Perfect Fit, Biddeford and low-voltage pads were not read, so the page makes no claim about them. Run the plug test on those. Beautyrest's manual covers the SCMP controllers only, and a retail listing does not say which controller a pad ships with. So enable the mode and test it, whatever the box says. The page gives no wattage, because no manual read prints one.

Safety rules from the manuals apply whatever the plug does. Sunbeam says not to use its pads with an infant, a child, or anyone who is insensitive to heat or cannot operate the controls. A schedule that warms someone else's bed does not change that, and neither does a remote start. Sunbeam and Beautyrest both rule out generators and inverters. If the pad flashes an error code, follow its reset steps, not the plug's.

Can you put an electric blanket on a smart plug?

You can, but it only turns the blanket on if its controller comes back on by itself when power returns. Beautyrest's SCMP controllers do this once you enable Smart Home mode. Sunbeam's standard controllers do not, since Sunbeam says to press the power button after a power failure. Any blanket can be turned off by a plug.

Why won't my heated mattress pad turn on with a smart plug?

Because its controller starts in off when power arrives. Sunbeam's manual gives one way back after a power failure: press the power button. Beautyrest pads behave the same way in normal mode and need Smart Home mode turned on first. Unplug the pad for 5 seconds while it is on to see which kind you have.

How do I turn on Smart Home mode on a Beautyrest heated mattress pad?

Per Beautyrest's SCMP manual, turn the controller off. Hold PREHEAT and UP together for about 2 seconds, until a 20 setting controller blinks "AO" or a 5 setting controller's Preheat light blinks once. To test, turn the pad on, unplug it for 5 seconds and plug it back in. It should resume at the last setting.

Will a heated mattress pad stay on all night?

Usually for 10 hours at most. Beautyrest's default auto-off is 10 hours, which its manual calls "the maximum allowed operating time". Sunbeam's standard pads turn off after 10 hours, and throws after 3. The count restarts when power returns, so start a plug schedule no more than 10 hours before you want the heat to end.

Does the Sunbeam Wi-Fi heated mattress pad need a smart plug?

No. Its app sets the heat level, the days and how long it runs, with a timer from 30 minutes to 24 hours. It works with Google Home or Alexa on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. If you start it from the app, press the controller within 1 hour, or the heat drops to level 4 if it was set higher.

Can I preheat my bed with a smart plug?

Only with a pad that resumes when power returns, such as a Beautyrest pad in Smart Home mode. On other pads, use the controller's own preheat. Sunbeam's runs 30 minutes on models that have it, and Beautyrest's has a 1 hour timer, and both then return to your setting.

Primary sources

Specification and vendor documentation we checked while writing this page. Where a claim depends on firmware behaviour rather than a published spec, the page says so inline.