Hubs compared by the radios they carry
Radio by radio, with the model-level traps that make two boxes with the same name behave differently.
Read a hub's radio list in four questions#
- Which radios does the silicon have? Not which protocols the app supports.
- Can they run at once? Some hardware has one 802.15.4 radio and makes you choose Zigbee or Thread.
- Does the model you are buying have them? Storage tiers, generations and regional variants change the answer inside a single product name.
- Does the vendor show you anything when it breaks? A hub with no Thread diagnostics is a hub you cannot debug.
The whole field on the first question:
| Platform | Thread border router | Radios | Hub hardware |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | Yes | Wi-Fi, Thread, Bluetooth LE | HomePod mini ($129), HomePod 2, Apple TV 4K 2nd gen, Apple TV 4K 3rd gen 128 GB Wi-Fi plus Ethernet ($249) |
| Google Home | Yes | Wi-Fi, Thread, Bluetooth LE | Google Home Speaker 2026 ($99.99), Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro, Google TV Streamer |
| Amazon Alexa | Yes | Wi-Fi, Thread, Zigbee on selected models, Bluetooth LE, Sidewalk | Echo Dot Max ($99.99), Echo Hub, Echo Show 8 and up, Echo Studio, Echo 4th gen, eero 6 and 7 routers |
| Samsung SmartThings | Yes | Wi-Fi, Thread, Zigbee, Z-Wave on Aeotec hubs, Bluetooth LE | SmartThings Station, Aeotec Smart Home Hub, or the hub built into 2022 and later Samsung TVs and Family Hub refrigerators |
| Home Assistant | Yes | Zigbee, Thread, Z-Wave 800 and Long Range, Bluetooth LE, Wi-Fi, infrared and 433 MHz through ESPHome | Home Assistant Green ($199) plus a Connect ZBT-2 radio ($49) or ZWA-2 for Z-Wave ($69), or your own hardware |
| Hubitat Elevation | Model dependent | Zigbee 3.0 or Thread depending on model, Z-Wave 800 and Long Range, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, Bluetooth | Hubitat Elevation C-8 Pro ($184.95), or the Thread Special Edition ($249.95) which swaps the Zigbee radio for Thread |
| Homey Pro | Yes | Wi-Fi, Thread, Zigbee 3.0, Z-Wave 700, Bluetooth LE, infrared, 433 MHz where permitted | Homey Pro 2026 ($449), Homey Pro mini ($249) which needs a $69 Bridge for anything beyond Wi-Fi and Zigbee |
Thread#
Every mainstream platform now has Thread except Hubitat, and "has Thread" means different things in each case.
Apple. Border router duty falls to a HomePod mini ($129), HomePod 2nd gen, Apple TV 4K 2nd gen, or the Apple TV 4K 3rd gen in its 128 GB Wi-Fi plus Ethernet configuration ($249). The 64 GB Wi-Fi only model at $199 has no Thread radio. Apple TV moved to Thread 1.4 around June 2026. HomePods had not, as of September 2026.
Google. Nest Hub 2nd gen, Nest Hub Max, Nest Wifi Pro, Google TV Streamer and the 2026 Google Home Speaker ($99.99). The Streamer moved to Thread 1.4 around June 2026 and Nest Wifi Pro runs it too. The Nest Hubs had not moved as of September 2026. Nest Mini and Nest Audio are Matter hubs with no Thread radio.
Amazon. The widest border router list of any ecosystem: Echo Dot Max, Echo Hub, Echo Studio, Echo 4th gen, the larger Echo Show models, and most eero 6 and 7 series routers. The catch is diagnostics. Amazon exposes almost nothing about the Thread network, so when devices drop you have no data to work with, and version claims are reported rather than documented.
SmartThings. The SmartThings Station and Aeotec Smart Home Hub are the documented border routers, and the hub inside 2024 and later Samsung TVs and Family Hub refrigerators carries Thread too. Older vendor lists disagree about which hubs qualify, so check the spec sheet for the exact model.
Home Assistant. The OpenThread Border Router add-on runs on Yellow, Connect ZBT-1 or Connect ZBT-2. It is the only setup that shows you full Thread state, which is why most debugging guides use it. OTBR 1.4 left beta in Home Assistant 2026.6 on 3 June 2026, with built-in mDNS handling that fixed long-standing failures on certain routers.
Hubitat. The C-8 and C-8 Pro are not Thread border routers. Matter over Wi-Fi works; Thread needs separate hardware. Hubitat announced a Thread Special Edition C-8 Pro on 20 August 2026 at $249.95 that replaces the Zigbee radio with a Thread radio. Hubitat does not state whether it acts as a full border router, so treat that as unconfirmed.
Homey. Both Homey Pro models have a border router built in. The Homey Pro 2026 forms its own Thread network and does not join an existing one, and commissioning runs over Bluetooth, so a device must be within Bluetooth range of the hub when you pair it. In a house already running an Apple or Google Thread network, that is a second network rather than more coverage. Why you have three Thread networks covers the cost.
| Hardware | Primary ecosystem | Thread version | Border router | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple TV 4K (3rd gen, Wi-Fi + Ethernet) | Apple Home | Thread 1.4 (June 2026 tvOS update) | Yes | The 64 GB Wi-Fi only model is not a border router. Buy the 128 GB Wi-Fi plus Ethernet model if you want Thread. |
| Apple TV 4K (2nd gen) | Apple Home | Thread 1.3 | Yes | Still a working border router, no Thread 1.4 credential features. |
| HomePod mini | Apple Home | Thread 1.3 | Yes | Works well inside Apple Home. HomePods had not moved to Thread 1.4 as of September 2026, so they cannot share credentials. |
| HomePod (2nd gen) | Apple Home | Thread 1.3 | Yes | Works well inside Apple Home. HomePods had not moved to Thread 1.4 as of September 2026, so they cannot share credentials. |
| Google TV Streamer (4K) | Google Home | Thread 1.4 (June 2026 update) | Yes | Currently the strongest Google border router, and it can share credentials by QR code. |
| Nest Wifi Pro | Google Home | Thread 1.4 | Yes | Border router built into the mesh router, so coverage follows your Wi-Fi. |
| Nest Hub (2nd gen) | Google Home | Thread 1.3 (1.4 in preview) | Yes | Thread 1.4 firmware was still preview only as of September 2026. |
| Nest Hub Max | Google Home | Thread 1.3 (1.4 in preview) | Yes | Same status as the Nest Hub 2nd gen. |
| Echo (4th gen) | Alexa | Thread 1.3 reported | Yes | Amazon publishes little Thread diagnostic detail. Treat version claims as unconfirmed. |
| Echo Hub | Alexa | Thread 1.3 reported | Yes | Wall panel with Zigbee, Thread and Matter controller roles. |
| Echo Show 8 / 10 / 11 / 15 / 21 | Alexa | Thread 1.3 reported | Yes | Border router role varies by generation, check the model page before relying on it. |
| eero 6+, Pro 6E, 7, Pro 7, Max 7 | Alexa | Thread 1.3 reported | Yes | Widely deployed but opaque: no user visible Thread diagnostics. |
| SmartThings Station | SmartThings | Thread 1.4 | Yes | Doubles as a 15 W phone charger. Zigbee and Thread in one puck. |
| SmartThings Hub (2024+ Samsung TVs and Family Hub fridges) | SmartThings | Thread 1.4 | Yes | The hub is inside the appliance, which ties your smart home to a TV replacement cycle. |
| Aeotec Smart Home Hub (v3 / v4) | SmartThings | Thread 1.4 | Yes | The standalone SmartThings hub for people who do not want a Samsung TV. |
| Home Assistant Yellow | Home Assistant | OpenThread BR 1.4 (HA 2026.6) | Yes | Runs OTBR as an add-on with full diagnostics, which is why most Thread debugging guides use it. |
| Home Assistant Green + Connect ZBT-2 | Home Assistant | OpenThread BR 1.4 (HA 2026.6) | Yes | ZBT-2 runs either Zigbee or Thread, not both at once. Budget two dongles if you need both. |
| Home Assistant Connect ZBT-1 (SkyConnect) | Home Assistant | OpenThread BR 1.4 (HA 2026.6) | Yes | Production ended, software support continues. |
| Aqara Hub M3 | Aqara (multi platform) | Thread border router | Yes | Zigbee 3.0, Thread, Matter controller, PoE and an IR blaster in one box. |
| Aqara Camera Hub G5 Pro / Doorbell G410 | Aqara (multi platform) | Thread border router | Yes | Camera first, border router second. Useful if it is already going outside. |
| Homey Pro (2023 / 2026) | Homey | Thread border router | Yes | Also carries Zigbee, Z-Wave, Bluetooth, infrared and 433 MHz radios. |
| IKEA DIRIGERA | IKEA | Thread border router (firmware update) | Yes | Became a Matter controller and border router by firmware update rather than at launch. |
| Nanoleaf Shapes / Lines / Elements | Nanoleaf | Thread router (some models border router) | Partial | Mains powered Thread devices act as routers and extend the mesh even when they are not border routers. |
| Hubitat Elevation C-8 / C-8 Pro | Hubitat | Not a Thread border router | No | Zigbee and Z-Wave onboard, Matter over Wi-Fi supported, but Thread devices need a separate border router. |
| Philips Hue Bridge | Hue | Not a Thread border router | No | Zigbee only. It bridges Hue into Matter, it does not carry Thread. |
| Google Home Speaker (2026) | Google Home | Thread 1.3 | Yes | $99.99, shipped June 2026. Matter controller and border router in one, but on Thread 1.3 rather than 1.4. |
Zigbee#
Zigbee is where the field splits hardest, because the big three treat it as optional.
| Platform | Zigbee | Where the radio lives |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | No | Nothing Apple sells has a Zigbee radio |
| Google Home | No | Same |
| Amazon Alexa | Selected models only | Echo 4th gen, Echo Show 8 3rd gen, Echo Show 10 3rd gen, Echo Dot Max, Echo Studio 2025. Echo Dot and Echo Pop have none |
| SmartThings | Yes | Station, Aeotec hubs, and 2022 and later Samsung TVs from the Q60 up |
| Home Assistant | Yes, by dongle | Connect ZBT-2 ($49), Sonoff and SMLIGHT adapters, ConBee III |
| Hubitat | Yes, on the standard model | Zigbee 3.0 onboard. The Thread Special Edition gives it up |
| Homey Pro | Yes | Zigbee 3.0 on both the Pro and the mini |
The Zigbee versus Thread choice inside one radio catches the most people. The Connect ZBT-2 runs either Zigbee or Thread, not both at once, and Hubitat does the same thing in the crudest possible way: you pick a model at checkout. If you own Zigbee devices and want Thread devices, budget for two radios. Two ZBT-2 dongles at $49 each is still cheaper than most alternatives.
Zigbee 4.0 was announced on 18 November 2025 and is fully backward compatible with Zigbee 3.0, which remains the shipping baseline, so it changes nothing about what to buy today. Zigbee in 2026 covers coordinator child limits, which matter far more than the version number.
Z-Wave#
Only three of the seven platforms carry Z-Wave natively, and the differences between them are real.
| Platform | Z-Wave | Long Range | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home Assistant | Yes, Connect ZWA-2 ($69) | Yes, 800 series | Home Assistant 2026.6 added Z-Wave lock PIN management in the UI |
| Hubitat | Yes, onboard | Yes, 800 series | Present on both the standard C-8 Pro and the Thread Special Edition |
| Homey Pro 2026 | Yes, onboard | No, 700 series | The Homey Pro mini has no Z-Wave radio without a $69 Bridge |
| SmartThings | Historically through Aeotec hubs only | Unconfirmed | Current series support is not clearly documented, so verify before buying |
| Apple, Google, Amazon | No | No | No Z-Wave radio in any of their hardware |
This matters more than it used to. Z-Wave Long Range reached 125 certified devices by CES 2026, with roughly 80% of the certification pipeline targeting it. It uses a star topology, so every device talks straight to the hub with no repeaters, at up to 4,000 nodes and 30 dBm transmit power. That is the answer for a gate, a well house or a detached garage, and buying a hub without Z-Wave closes that door. Long Range inclusion needs hub firmware support, not just an 800 series radio: see Z-Wave and Z-Wave Long Range.
Wi-Fi, Ethernet and Bluetooth#
Every hub has Wi-Fi. Fewer have Ethernet, and Ethernet is worth having: a wired border router removes your Wi-Fi from the failure path for every Thread device in the house. The Apple TV 4K 128 GB, Hubitat, Home Assistant Green and the Aeotec hubs are wired. HomePods and most speakers are not. The Homey Pro 2026 needs a $29 adapter.
Bluetooth is a commissioning channel, not a control channel, on nearly every platform. Two exceptions: the Homey Pro mini has no Bluetooth radio without the $69 Bridge, and the Homey Pro 2026 uses Bluetooth for Thread commissioning, which constrains where you stand when you pair.
Infrared and 433 MHz#
This category decides whether old equipment survives, and only two options really compete.
- Homey Pro 2026 has an infrared blaster and a 433 MHz radio, but 433 MHz is disabled in the United States, Canada and South Korea for regulatory reasons. Buy it for infrared and treat the 433 MHz radio as inert here.
- Home Assistant reaches both through ESPHome devices, and 2026.6 added bidirectional infrared. More work, less money.
- Aqara Hub M3 carries an infrared blaster alongside Zigbee 3.0, Thread and Power over Ethernet, which makes it a useful second box rather than a platform.
- Hubitat has no infrared at all.
Proprietary radios are a separate problem: Lutron and older Hue gear need the vendor's own bridge whichever hub you own. Proprietary radios explains when that is the right call.
The traps, in one table#
| Product | What buyers assume | What is true |
|---|---|---|
| Apple TV 4K 3rd gen, 64 GB ($199) | It is an Apple home hub with Thread | No Thread radio. Only the 128 GB Wi-Fi plus Ethernet model at $249 has one |
| Echo Dot, Echo Pop | Cheap Alexa hub | No hub radios at all. Speaker plus cloud |
| Nest Mini, Nest Audio | Google hub with Thread | Matter hub, no Thread radio |
| Home Assistant Green ($199) | A hub with radios | No radios at all. Every protocol is a dongle |
| Connect ZBT-2 ($49) | Zigbee and Thread together | One protocol at a time. Two dongles for both |
| Hubitat C-8 Pro ($184.95) | Everything in one box | Zigbee and Z-Wave, no Thread border router |
| Hubitat Thread Special Edition ($249.95) | Adds Thread | Replaces the Zigbee radio. Border router role unconfirmed by Hubitat |
| Homey Pro 2026 ($449) | Joins your Thread network | Forms its own network only, and pairs over Bluetooth range |
| Homey Pro mini ($249) | A cheaper Homey Pro | No Z-Wave, Bluetooth, infrared or 433 MHz without a $69 Bridge |
| SmartThings hub inside a Samsung TV | A free hub | Ties your smart home to a television replacement cycle |
Matter versions, because the radio is only half of it#
Two hubs with identical radios still behave differently, because the application layer moves faster than the hardware. Every Matter version lists what shipped when.
| Platform | Matter support | Local Control Index |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Home | Apple does not publish a version. Behavior matches roughly Matter 1.2 to 1.4 device types. | 60 |
| Google Home | Documented device types top out at Matter 1.3, and Matter 1.2 types were still being added through late 2025. | 15 |
| Amazon Alexa | Echo devices run the Matter 1.5 SDK and expose a subset of 1.5 and earlier device types. | 5 |
| Samsung SmartThings | Matter 1.5, shipped about a month after the specification and ahead of every other consumer platform. | 30 |
| Home Assistant | Matter 1.6 in the current Matter Server, the most current implementation of any platform, though not yet re-certified by the alliance. | 100 |
| Hubitat Elevation | Hubitat states Matter 1.5 on current hubs. That is a vendor claim we could not confirm in a certification record. | 88 |
| Homey Pro | Matter 1.5, certified in June 2026. Cameras are not included and are deferred to a later release. | 63 |
SmartThings shipped Matter 1.5 first, in December 2025, and is the only controller shipping Matter 1.5 cameras. Home Assistant runs the most current implementation. Hubitat's Matter 1.5 claim is the vendor's own; no certification record backs it.
No major ecosystem has shipped user-facing Joint Fabric from Matter 1.6 as of September 2026, so multi-controller setups still mean separate fabrics. The seven platforms compared sets the automation and subscription differences beside these.
What to buy for each radio mix#
| Your device mix | Best fit | Roughly |
|---|---|---|
| Thread and Wi-Fi Matter only, iPhone household | HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K 128 GB | $129 to $249 |
| Thread and Wi-Fi Matter only, Android household | Google Home Speaker or Echo Dot Max | $99.99 |
| Zigbee plus Thread, want local automation | Home Assistant Green plus two ZBT-2 dongles | $199 plus $49 each |
| Zigbee and Z-Wave, no server maintenance | Hubitat C-8 Pro | $184.95 |
| Everything including infrared legacy gear | Homey Pro 2026 | $449 |
| Mixed protocols, want Matter features first | SmartThings Station or Aeotec hub | Vendor pricing varies |
Which smart home hub supports the most protocols?
Homey Pro 2026 at $449: Wi-Fi, Thread, Zigbee 3.0, Z-Wave 700, Bluetooth LE and infrared, with 433 MHz disabled in the United States. Home Assistant matches it once you add a $49 Connect ZBT-2 and a $69 ZWA-2, and passes it through ESPHome, but you assemble it yourself. See Homey Pro and Home Assistant.
Can one hub run Zigbee and Thread at the same time?
Only with two 802.15.4 radios or a chip running both stacks. SmartThings Station and Homey Pro do both. The Connect ZBT-2 does one at a time, so you need two dongles. Hubitat makes you choose at purchase: the standard model has Zigbee, the Thread Special Edition swaps it for Thread.
Does Hubitat support Thread?
Not on the standard C-8 or C-8 Pro, which have no Thread radio and are not border routers. Hubitat announced a Thread Special Edition C-8 Pro in August 2026 at $249.95 that replaces the Zigbee radio with a Thread one. Hubitat does not state whether it acts as a full border router, so do not assume it. See Hubitat Elevation.
Is the Home Assistant Green a hub if it has no radios?
Yes, in the software sense. It runs the controller, the automation engine and every integration locally. What it lacks is a single radio, so a $199 Green with nothing plugged in cannot talk to a Zigbee bulb. Plan on $248 minimum for Green plus one radio, more if you need Zigbee, Thread and Z-Wave together.
Which hub is best for Z-Wave?
Home Assistant with a Connect ZWA-2 ($69), or Hubitat, because both use 800 series silicon with Long Range support. Homey Pro carries Z-Wave 700, fine for classic Z-Wave but not Long Range. SmartThings has historically needed an Aeotec hub and the current position is not clearly documented. Apple, Google and Amazon have none.
Do I need a hub from the same brand as my devices?
For Matter devices, no: any Matter controller can commission them, and several can hold them at once. For Zigbee and Z-Wave you need a hub with that radio, but not that brand, except for vendor-locked systems like Lutron and Hue. Do you need a smart home hub? works through the cases.
Why does my new hub not see the Thread devices I already have?
Because a Thread device belongs to a Thread network and to a Matter fabric, and a new hub arrives with neither. A second border router forms a second network unless you share credentials, and a new hub does not inherit your fabric. You either commission the device again through multi-admin or share Thread credentials deliberately. Hub, bridge, controller, border router explains why those are separate steps.
Primary sources
Specification and vendor documentation we checked while writing this page. Where a claim depends on firmware behaviour rather than a published spec, the page says so inline.